Dis-Ease

Well, we are nearing the end of National Public Health Week, and I feel sick.

It's National Public Health Week!

Between budget wars and foreign wars, between hard-line positions and political posturing, between extreme tea parties and extreme cuts and extreme threats, I think my guts have been twisted in knots. This week, I am here to help find sense and meaning in this twisted environment we find ourselves struggling to survive in.

I’ll start with all of the noxious talk about an extreme tea party.  Regardless of what side of the fence you sit-on, stand-on, or lean-to – all of the press and water cooler pontification must shake your nerves and bring a general feeling of anxiety.  To help with National Public Health problem, take my one-step solution:  Imagine an extreme tea party.  Seriously, Imagine a four-year-old girl in a frilly dress at a pink plastic picnic table gracefully serving her stuffed animals while snowboarding down a mountain before jumping off the cliff. That is an extreme tea party.  From now on, any time you hear the terms tea party, or tea party extremists, just visualize the above picture and relax.

Tea Party

Maybe enjoy a peppermint patty instead…

Extreme Tea Group
Extreme Tea Group

 

The second Public Health issue is the battle over the budget and the seemingly looming Government Shutdown.  I’ve been caught in the middle of a lot of “back and forth”s about the impending shutdown, and the questions it raised has significantly raised my blood-pressure.  First off- how can the Republicans who took office less than four months ago be blamed for not creating a budget that was due more than half a year ago (when the Democrats held the Senate, Congress, and Presidency)?  Secondly, how can the Democrats be blamed for stalling the process when the Republicans are holding things like Planned Parenthood and the EPA as fiscal hostages just for the sake of political posturing and future elections? I’m not sure about you, my back hurts from the “political posturing” I have been forced into– grabbing my ankles so elected officials can maintain appearance tends to wear on the spine.  I personally don’t care who you blame for the mess we are in today, but one thing is certain, no matter what happens I think we might need planned parenthood because at least half of us will get screwed We need leadership and action, not posturing and double-speak and pointed fingers!

Blame
“When elephants fight, it is the grass the suffers.”

 

My home remedy for these two ailments (blood-pressure soaring with deficits and threats and back-pain from “posturing”) is as simple as my first.  Stand-up straight– that’s right, stand-up for yourself and speak your mind to your elected officials.  Letting go of all of your frustrations through expression of them will lower your blood-pressure, whilst standing-up for yourself will help alleviate your back pain.

So at this point we have covered general anxiety, upset stomachs, blood pressure, and back pain.  What else ails you?

Hopefully, nothing because we can’t afford to get sick. (Just read this to learn more about “Affordable Healthcare”.)

