I’ve been told that when I am angry with someone I should just write them a letter and never send it.

I’ve never agreed with that.  If I am angry at someone, I will tell them.  I reserve that line of thinking for things that are on my mind but are better left unsaid for any number of reasons.

Now, I’m a modern man, so I do not write letters just because I’m emotional and never send them – I write emails regarding something I need to tell them, then add “On a more personal note:” and then send the email sans “On a…” to the end.

The following example I wrote today to my lawyer.  By the way of back-story I should tell you that although I am not a lawyer and barely a graduate of communications (I tell people I got my BA in BS!) I have worked in and with several law firms and several lawyers.  I am decently versed in the legal realm as I have written literally hundreds of legal pieces, from motions to red-lines to emails to billing statements to HUD statements to filing ect.  I have done everything short of represent someone in court or officially give legal advise.  I have not told my attorney this, nor do I think I will.  Let it just be said – I think he is an idiot and should be brought-up for attorney review and I will be taking him to fee arb if he ever gives me the bill he has been promising for over a year.

Without further ado, here is my latest “better left unsaid” email.

_____________________________________________________________

On a more personal note:

Regarding our phone conversation the other day, you stated that my wife would not get good service in the future and has not from you thus far because you don’t like my tone and my insults (that I do not see nor know of) and I was wondering if you really meant that or if you were just blowing off steam.

Also, you did not answer the question as to whether or not your performance so far has been an example of you doing your best.  I feel it is an important question.

You admit to not noticing the court restraining me, a non party to this specific matter, and not knowing that it is not a legal or enforceable restraint because of it.  You also told me I was wrong when I pointed it out to you, but three days of research later you finally figured-out that the court cannot restrain a person who is not only not a party to the case, but had not been given notice, nor was present to defend himself.  Well thanks for finally admitting I was right for the last 9 months.

It is a matter of record that you failed to file any cross-motion as requested, as of yet, although our correspondence proves we spelled-out what the order should contain in the email last dated April 5. 2010, 87 days prior to court and 72 days prior to when the cross-motion needed to be filed.  You completely and utterly failed to be, in any way, professional and were instead improper and negligent regarding this matter. A total actus reus that should have you running to kiss my ass while informing your insurance carrier and hiring your own attorney for your review.  This isn’t my opinion.  This is a matter of fact, verifiable through court filings, billing statements, and date/time stamped correspondence between us.

Although you disagree with me on the number, we both know you missed several meetings without giving us notice – leaving us standing in your parking lot for over an hour, and have yet to respond to requests about the “bill” you have been telling me you about for about a year.

I feel like you yelled at me and spoke down to me as if I were an idiot at the beginning of the aforementioned phone conversation and it made me very upset.  I heard you tell me that I don’t know what is going on and I need to stop pretending to be a lawyer, or pretend that I have any understanding of what is going on.  I hope you understand that the reason I am dissatisfied with your service thus far is spelled-out in the preceding paragraphs.  I feel no animosity towards you or your practice.  I have not been mad, angry, ect at you or your practice.  I am just a consumer who wish to express his dissatisfaction with the services given.  There is nothing personal and I would thank you to keep your personal insults towards me to yourself.

With Warmest Regards,

Scott Sinope

Piss on you